#ReleaseBlitz~~Almost Impossible by Nicole Williams #SummerRead

Rating:

 

 

 

 

AP new - synopsis.jpg

 

Fans of Sarah Dessen, Stephanie Perkins, and Jenny Han will delight as the fireworks spark and the secrets fly in this delicious summer romance from a New York Times and USA Today bestselling author.

When Jade decided to spend the summer with her aunt in California, she thought she knew what she was getting into. But nothing could have prepared her for Quentin. Jade hasn’t been in suburbia long and even she knows her annoying (and annoyingly cute) next-door neighbor spells T-R-O-U-B-L-E.

And when Quentin learns Jade plans to spend her first American summer hiding out reading books, he refuses to be ignored. Sneaking out, staying up, and even a midnight swim, Quentin is determined to give Jade days–and nights–worth remembering.

But despite their storybook-perfect romance, every time Jade moves closer, Quentin pulls away. And when rumors of a jilted ex-girlfriend come to light, Jade knows Quentin is hiding a secret–and she’s determined to find out what it is.

 

Stephanie’s 4 Blush Review

“Do everything. Do anything. Just do. It’s a verb baby, which means action.”

I really enjoyed this story! I don’t normally read YA, but I will read anything that Nicole Williams writes! This is a great book to read while on vacation or just lounging around this summer. The story is sweet and flows from page to page. Nicole gives us such a great view of the characters.

Jade Abbott wants to spend the summer before her senior year with her aunt and live like a “normal” American teenager. Jade is anything but normal. She has seen the world with her mom and her band, the Shrinking Violets.

“She and her band, the Shrinking Violets, were going to be touring internationally after finally hitting it big……This was the first time we wouldn’t be together. Actually it would be the first time we’d been apart ever.”

I loved Jade! She is easy going and responsible but also fun and adventurous too. She is a hippie and has had many little adventures. Traveling around the world with her mom has brought Jade a unique perspective on life. But nothing will prepare Jade for the American teen experience, complete with cattiness and drama.

Quentin Ford is not your average teen. He has a lot of family responsibilities and obligations. He meets Jade at the community pool where they are both working for the summer. They have a rough start but then ease into a friendship with a lot of back and forth bantering. Their relationship is a slow burn. Jade holds back a bit of herself, but Quentin holds back even more. For me, Quentin was a great book boyfriend! Kind, smart, giving, responsible and really hot! His emotions run deep which we discover by books end.

The ending was left open which worked well for Jade & Quentin’s story.

I would love to see a book about Jade’s mom, Megan. A teen mom with a love of music to international lead singer of her band Shrinking Violets. I think there is a lot of story there!

“She loved music – writing it, listening to it, playing it – and was a true musician.”

Tera’s 3.5 Blush Review

This is my first book by Nicole Williams which I was dying to read for two reasons:

  1. That cover. Seriously. It. Is. Gorgeous. (And yes… I judge books by their covers.)
  2. It’s YA. And I’m a sucker for YA.

I wasn’t really sure what to feel about this book as I was reading, however. I really liked Megan, Jade’s mother. But other than her, I didn’t feel fully convinced by these characters.

Jade has had an unconventional upbringing traveling with her rockstar mother on tour with her band. She wants to have a normal teenage summer right before her senior year and stays with her very conservative and strict aunt.

“You’re the only one who knows who you should be, and how to be it.”

Jade meets Quentin at the pool where she looks for a summer job. Their friendship blooms and they slowly fall for each other. As much as I truly did love the banter and teasing between Jade and Quentin, it just lacked something. I can’t quite put my finger on it, but with the subject matter and the way the ending is built up, it didn’t pack quite the punch it could have.

Would I recommend this book despite that?

Of course. This is actually a very quick, fun, summer read. In fact, you could buddy read it with your daughters. It’s still a sweet story of first love.

AP new -about the author.jpg

 

Nicole Williams is the New York Times and USA TODAY bestselling author of contemporary and young adult romance, including the Crash and Lost & Found series. Her books have been published by HarperTeen and Simon & Schuster in both domestic and foreign markets, while she continues to self-publish additional titles. She is working on a new YA series with Crown Books (a division of Random House) as well. She loves romance, from the sweet to the steamy, and writes stories about characters in search of their happily even after. She grew up surrounded by books and plans on writing until the day she dies, even if it’s just for her own personal enjoyment. She still buys paperbacks because she’s all nostalgic like that, but her kindle never goes neglected for too long. When not writing, she spends her time with her husband and daughter, and whatever time’s left over she’s forced to fit too many hobbies into too little time.

Nicole is represented by Jane Dystel, of Dystel and Goderich Literary Agency.

 

 

ArdentProse_LogoMain.jpg

 

 

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: