#AvailableNow~~Heart of Glass by Nicole Jacquelyn #ForbiddenRomance

Heart of Glass (Fostering Love) by [Jacquelyn, Nicole]

“Top Pick! Change of Heart is sexy, emotional, and the perfect follow-up to Unbreak My Heart. Fans of Colleen Hoover, Jamie McGuire, and K.A. Tucker will enjoy Change of Heart.
–HarlequinJunkie.com
 
The next standalone novel from Nicole Jacquelyn about love, friendship, and forgiveness.
 
Henry Harris was living his dream as a staff sergeant in the Marines. When he’s killed in action, his devastated family is in for one more shock: he had a daughter they never knew about.
Morgan Riley has been raising Etta on her own, and that’s always been fine by her – until Henry’s brother Trevor arrives on her doorstep, willing to do anything to help and make up for his brother’s mistakes. Their attraction feels wrong, but Morgan can’t seem to turn him away.
Trevor is suddenly in too deep. He has always wanted a family, but Etta and Morgan come with complications. Yet as Etta brings them closer together, Trevor begins to imagine giving Morgan and Etta the life his brother never could. But he wonders if Morgan will ever learn to trust another man with her heart, especially a man whose last name is Harris.

Tera’s 3 Blush Review

Nicole Jacquelyn is a fairly new-to-me author. I read book 2 in her Fostering Love series, Change of Heart. When I was given the opportunity to read Heart of Glass, I jumped because the second book was soooo good. I intend to go back and read book one, Unbreak My Heart. Obviously, these books do standalone, but characters are definitely interconnected.

Nicole has created at very unique family dynamic of siblings and cousins that were adopted or fostered who sometimes find love in each other. This is Trevor’s Story. We Trevor in book 2, but in this book we really see that he is the oldest brother who wants to keep everyone happy and is a mama’s boy. Trevor is Bram and Ani’s cousin.

We actually find out that Henry dies in action in book 2 and learn that he has a baby that he never told his family about. Trevor has volunteered to go meet Henry’s daughter, Etta and her mother, Morgan.  This book is set up to be able to follow that story line whether all the books are read or not, but this late in the game, I think at least reading the second book prior to this one would help just because it’s a big family with adoptions and fostering and it can be tough to keep track of the “kids.” As Trevor builds a relationship with Morgan and Etta in hopes of keeping his side of the family in touch with Henry’s daughter, he gets a lot more than he bargained for. He and Morgan have a quick attraction and friendship that builds into much more.

I have had a really hard time with this review because I just needed so much more with this book. I needed more from Henry. I needed more about Henry. I needed more from Morgan’s perception of Henry. To me, this book should have been every bit Henry’s story as it was Trevor’s because there really is so much mourning and grief in this book that just falls so short. That grief is seen with their mother, Ellie, but I needed even more from her even if she was a little unbearable.

I can only hope the next book picks up that momentum and angst I felt in the last book. This is a very loving and doting family, and I can’t wait to see who we get to read about next.

 

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

%d bloggers like this: